Jesus- Like A Sidewalk

I trust people all the time. I trust the people who ride in my car not to jump out of it while we’re rollin’ down the freeway. I trust my car to start on cold mornings to get me to the gym where I trust that no one is going to kill me dead. (No one wants to die at the gym. At least I don’t.) I trust the coffee shop barista  to make my drink properly and to not poison me. I trust that when I make a deposit at the bank, the teller is in fact putting the money into my account instead of pocketing it and I trust that the sidewalk isn’t going to cave in when I walk on it.  I trust in these things primarily because I have been taught to do so. I don’t remember my mom warning me as a kid, “Be careful now sweetie, that sidewalk can’t be trusted!”  I walk assuredly on the sidewalk because that is what I have been doing my whole life.
I only wish that I had been equally well trained to trust Christ with my life and everything in it.

Now don’t get me wrong, my parents taught me that the LORD is trustworthy, but I believe I was sheltered from the strains of life as a child and was therefore mostly unaware of the tremendous amount of God-given faith it took to get my parents through the tough stuff. That being said, I wish I had learned to trust Jesus like a sidewalk a long time ago. You can put both feet and the full weight of your life on a sidewalk.

Jesus is ridiculously faithful. Over the past several months, I have really learned to know God as my provider. I have told people time and time again, “You can’t take this lesson of trust away from me.” As in, I have learned to trust God to meet my needs; He will and no one can tell me different! However, I have found that if I should choose to, I can easily let go of this lesson on my own and this is why trust must be learned and also practiced. Back to the sidewalk thing, what if you always said you had no problem with sidewalks, but when given the chance to walk on the sidewalk from your car into the library, you choose to walk through mud instead…?  Sounds like somebody has a problem with sidewalks! No analogy for Christ holds up as long as He does, so the sidewalk thing of course falls apart at some point, but I hope you get the picture. 🙂

Jesus is more faithful than a passenger, a car, a person, a barista, a bank teller, a sidewalk, or anything else. He never fails. He never gives up. He always provides. He always follows through and He always has your back. Our only responsibility in this is to CHOOSE to trust Him with everything, every day. We aught to be striving to get “trusting Jesus” to be our constant default. And one day, by His grace, we will trust in Him as readily as we do a sidewalk.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About gracecitylights

Hello, my name is RoseAnna and Jesus has set me free to live my life for Him. I enjoy traveling, hiking, learning, organizing, hugging, hanging out with the HS and ice cream. I want to meet you as long as you're not a creeper... and maybe so even at that. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

