Why meeting famous people was disappointing…

A couple of weeks ago I was exploring more of the Las Vegas strip with some new girl friends of mine. We didn’t have a plan or any money so we were just sort of wandering around and site seeing.  We happened to come upon two huge tour buses behind a hotel and no sooner than we realized who the tour buses belonged to did we encounter the famous people who rode in them. Colbie Caillat and Gavin DeGraw  are two of my favorite singer/ song writers and there they were… and I was the one asking to get a group photo with them. Gavin DeGraw must have still been on an adrenaline high because he was hugging me a lot more than you would expect someone you just met to do. Anyways, we got the crappy photo taken and were walking away in a daze before I realized, “Holy cow! I just met Gavin DeGraw and Colbie Caillat!”

Later that night I was laying in bed before I went to sleep and I was recounting the day’s activities. I could not help but realize that my life was really not much different than it had been the previous evening when I had recounted the activities of that day. Why was my life not changed by meeting famous people? Meeting famous people seems like something you could live for. I guess I expected the experience to change me and make me feel like I was leading a more fulfilled life but it did not.
I think this is the same disappointment that tackles people when they get married or have babies. Even when these big things happen, we are still the same people but maybe just with a different perspective on life. The only time I have ever met anyone who changed my life, who changed ME upon first glance, was when I met Jesus and He changes me every single time we meet.

That was a pretty big realization that meeting a a couple of people I looked up to didn’t change my life. It was a tad disappointing until and I fell asleep loving Jesus more than I had the day before and loving Colbie and Gavin a little less. 🙂

About gracecitylights

Hello, my name is RoseAnna and Jesus has set me free to live my life for Him. I enjoy traveling, hiking, learning, organizing, hugging, hanging out with the HS and ice cream. I want to meet you as long as you're not a creeper... and maybe so even at that. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

