“Let Go and Let God”…. Or Something Like That

We really don’t have control of much. We get to control our actions and that’s about it. I often wish I could control SO much more. Sometimes, if I had it my way, I would not only control my life but also the lives of many people around me. I would probably want to control your life if given half a chance. And, I can guarantee that if such a thing ever did occur, the whole wide world would unravel at the seams and everything would be even worse off than it already is. I would make a terrible God.
Even if I just focus on controlling my own life and the stuff that happens day to day, many days are simply a disappointment because there is so much about which I can do absolutely nothing. I can’t even seem to control who comes in and out of my life. I’ve had friends die, friends and family move away and other people who just because of circumstances in life are no longer available for close friendship. See what I mean by disappointing?
It gets worse. Even if I recognize and realize that I can’t control anyone or anything else even when those people and things interact with me, I still have to live with the disappointment of something even more close to home. Sometimes I feel like my own mind is my enemy and that I cannot even control my own thoughts. Often. I am shocked and horrified by the thoughts that enter my brain. It’s when I struggle with these horrifying thoughts that I get terribly crazed by the lack of control and I arrive at a stopping point.

There must be help somewhere. There must be hope somehow. And there must be someone who IS in control. SOMETHING MUST be in control because there is still intricate and undeniable order in some things in this place. There are migratory patterns, and weather patterns. There are seasons and the Earth still seems to be spinning on its axis. The whole cycle of life, as screwed up as it is, still manages to continue. There must be a God because someone or something who is bigger than all this MUST be the one holding it all together. Not the greatest of us humans could keep this world under control. So, it must be Him. 🙂

And if you take the focus off of me, or you, or whomever, and put it on God and everything He IS in control of… My goodness! What a sigh of relief! What a breath of fresh air! There IS hope!  We have not been left to our own uncontrollable world without Him. The One who is in control is trustworthy, faithful loving and He doesn’t just stop with Himself. He extends Himself by the power of His Holy Spirit into us and teaches us self-control… one of the many fruits of life with Him.

Life with Him is good. He’s really good at being God. He’s been doing it forever and no one can take the job from Him. He is a professional at being in control. He is the reason why there is order instead of chaos. He is the one who holds this whole shebang together and suddenly… That’s okay with me! 😉

About gracecitylights

Hello, my name is RoseAnna and Jesus has set me free to live my life for Him. I enjoy traveling, hiking, learning, organizing, hugging, hanging out with the HS and ice cream. I want to meet you as long as you're not a creeper... and maybe so even at that. :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

